Skip to main content
Banner Image

Exegesis: START HERE

Guide to locating resources for writing exegesis papers.

How to Start Writing an Exegesis Paper

Although your professor may have specific instructions that differ from what this tutorial presents, here are the basic steps common to most exegesis papers. 

  1. Select a chapter or passage of the Bible
  2. Analyze the passage based on its historical and cultural background
  3. Perform exegesis of each verse
  4. Provide an overall critical interpretation of the passage and how it may be applied
  5. Create a list of works cited or bibliography using an appropriate citation style

From the Azusa Pacific Stamps Theological Library

Use these Reference Resources to start your reseach

Use the tabs located near the top of the screen to see which biblical commentaries the Library has for earch book of the Bible.

  • The "OT Commentaries" tab contains a dropdown menu for commentaries by book of the Old Testament.
  • The "NT Commentaries" tab contains a dropdown menu for commentaries by book of the New Testament.
  • The "Reference Sources" tab contains a list of concordances and Bible dictionaries.
  • The "Articles" tab contains a list of resources for finding scholarly journal articles on biblical topics.
  • The "Web Resources" tab contains a list of useful resources on the web related to biblical exegesis and biblical archaeology.
  • The "Primary Sources" tab contains a list of useful primary sources on the web related to biblical exegesis and biblical archaeology.
  • The "Writing & Citing" tab contains resources for writing and citing.


For students who are unsure which book, chapter, and verses to write an exegesis on, or who are looking for background information on the Old Testament or New Testament, introductory sources are available.

Introductory Sources

Use these sources to familiarize yourself with the Old Testament or New Testament in general, in preparation for reasearching and writing your exegesis.

Plagiarism

Using the ideas or words of another person without giving credit constitutes plagiarism - a serious ethical and legal offense. You should strive to avoid it at all times, and can easily do so by using quotation marks to cite direct quote, and in-text citations to give credit if you are paraphrasing an idea.

*************************************************************************************************************************************************

From the Carroll College Student Handbook:

Plagiarism

 

The term “plagiarism” includes, but is not limited to, the use, by paraphrase or direct quotation, of the published or unpublished work of another person without full and clear acknowledgment. It also includes the unacknowledged use of materials prepared by another person or agency engaged in the selling of term papers or other academic materials.
Plagiarism may range from isolated formulas, sentences, or paragraphs to entire articles copied from books, periodicals, web sites, speeches,or the writings of other students. Honesty requires that any work or materials taken from another source for either written or oral use must be acknowledged. Any student who fails to give credit for ideas or materials obtained from another source is guilty of plagiarism.  Plagiarism, in any of its forms, and whether intentional or unintentional, violates standards of academic integrity. Examples of plagiarism include, but are not limited to:
  • Direct quotation of any source material whether published or unpublished without giving proper credit through the use of quotation marks, footnotes and other customary means of identifying sources.
  • Paraphrasing another person’s ideas, opinions, or theories from books, articles, websites, etc., without identifying and crediting sources.
  • Borrowing facts,statistics, graphs, diagrams, photographs, or other illustrative or visual materials that are not clearly common knowledge without identifying and crediting sources.
  • Copying another student’s essay test answers or submitting papers written by another person or persons. This includes copying, or allowing another student to copy, a computer file that contains another student’s assignment and submitting it, in part or in its entirety, as one’s own.
  • Buying or selling,or exchanging term papers, examinations, or other written assignments, or any part of them.
  • Offering false, fabricated, or fictitious sources for papers, reports, or other assignments.

Subject Guide

Terence Kratz