General CommentariesGenesisExodusLeviticusNumbersDeuteronomyJoshuah, Judges, Ruth1&2 Samuel1&2 Kings1&2 ChroniclesEzra & NehemiahEstherJobPsalms, ProverbsEcclesiastesSong of SolomonIsaiah, Jeremiah, LamentationsEzekiel, Daniel, HoseaJoel, Amos, ObadiahJonah, Micah, NahumHabakkuk, Zephaniah, HaggaiZechariah, Malachi
General CommentariesMatthewMarkLukeJohnActsRomans1&2 CorinthiansGalatians, Ephesians, PhilippiansColossians, 1&2 Thessalonians1&2 Timothy, Titus, PhilemonHebrewsJames1&2 Peter1,2,3 JohnJudeRevelation
This is the "START HERE" page of the "Exegesis" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Exegesis  

Guide to locating resources for writing exegesis papers.
Last Updated: Aug 25, 2014 URL: http://carroll.libguides.com/content.php?pid=443495 Print Guide RSS Updates

START HERE Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

How to Start Writing an Exegesis Paper

Although your professor may have specific instructions that differ from what this tutorial presents, here are the basic steps common to most exegesis papers. 

  1. Select a chapter or passage of the Bible
  2. Analyze the passage based on its historical and cultural background
  3. Perform exegesis of each verse
  4. Provide an overall critical interpretation of the passage and how it may be applied
  5. Create a list of works cited or bibliography using an appropriate citation style

From the Azusa Pacific Stamps Theological Library

 

Use these Reference Resources to start your reseach

Use the tabs located near the top of the screen to see which biblical commentaries the Library has for earch book of the Bible.

  • The "OT Commentaries" tab contains a dropdown menu for commentaries by book of the Old Testament.
  • The "NT Commentaries" tab contains a dropdown menu for commentaries by book of the New Testament.
  • The "Reference Sources" tab contains a list of concordances and Bible dictionaries.
  • The "Articles" tab contains a list of resources for finding scholarly journal articles on biblical topics.
  • The "Web Resources" tab contains a list of useful resources on the web related to biblical exegesis and biblical archaeology.
  • The "Primary Sources" tab contains a list of useful primary sources on the web related to biblical exegesis and biblical archaeology.
  • The "Writing & Citing" tab contains resources for writing and citing.


For students who are unsure which book, chapter, and verses to write an exegesis on, or who are looking for background information on the Old Testament or New Testament, introductory sources are available.

 

Introductory Sources

Use these sources to familiarize yourself with the Old Testament or New Testament in general, in preparation for reasearching and writing your exegesis.

Cover Art
Reading the Old Testament - Lawrence E. Boadt
ISBN: 0809126311
Publication Date: 1984-01-01

Cover Art
Old Testament Story - John H. Tullock
ISBN: 0130112933
Publication Date: 1999-07-26


Cover Art
Introduction to the New Testament - Raymond E. Brown
ISBN: 0385247672
Publication Date: 1997-10-13

Cover Art
Understanding the New Testament - Howard C. Kee
ISBN: 0139482660
Publication Date: 1993-01-21


Your Librarian

Profile Image
Terence Kratz
Contact Info
406-447-5450
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip